Andre's Hearth

This morning, I committed myself to spending one half hour in quiet prayer before beginning my day.  I was looking forward to a peaceful time, a time of feeling good, of having my soul rise up to the Lord.  I wanted to feel connected to the Lord.  Instead I spent a half hour wandering in and out of distractions some of which embarrass me.  No good feelings.  No soul rising up to the Lord.  Nothing but frustration.  And yet it was good prayer.  I know this even though I don’t feel it was.  I made the choice to sit before the Lord for a half hour even though I just wanted to get up and walk away after a while.  I stayed the course.  I surrendered myself and all my  distractions to the Lord – even though they kept coming back.  I experienced my spiritual poverty.  I experienced some ego…

View original post 92 more words

