The Bookshelf of Emily J.

But you should read Dante’s Inferno.  But that’s not what this post is about.  It is about my disappointment after picking up Inferno (2013) by Dan Brown with enthusiasm.  I expected it to be a fun, light read that I would enjoy, as I have appreciated some of Brown’s other books.  But I did not enjoy this one.  Not at all.

It is another Robert Langdon book, and although the need for a symbologist in any international criminal situation is doubtful, this time the situation is so hard to believe that it was corny.  And as a reader, I wasn’t sure what was really going on for the first few chapters, as Robert had amnesia and he didn’t know either.  The situation seems exciting, for there are apparent bullet wounds, police chases, and even the need for disguise, but it all falls flat.

Inferno-cover dan brown

For the most part, Brown…

View original post 171 more words

