Mind's Seat

Many of us will never forget learning about when John F. Kennedy gave his famous speech where he tried to say to the people of Berlin, that as a free man he was a fellow Berliner like them. What he actually said was that like the people of Berlin, he was a jelly doughnut. Something got lost in translation.

Having been a missionary in South Korea, I can tell you from firsthand experience that learning Korean can be very difficult. A fellow missionary had taken Korean language classes for ten years four hours a day. Even with all of this training there were words he still didn’t know. When we make a royal flub with what we say, the best thing we can do is laugh at ourselves.

I will always remember when I thought I had said to my Korean hosts who had taken me out to a supper…

View original post 396 more words

